It is very common nowadays to lose your iPhone. You could lose it while traveling or shopping, and chances are that it could be stolen without you even knowing. In both the cases, you might panic as a) You lost your beloved iPhone, b) You have important data in there.
Apple helps you in such a crisis situation where you can recover your iPhone or simply block the thief from stealing your data such as photos, videos, emails, and passwords etc.
This service is called “Find my iPhone”, and it is a part of the iCloud. What “Find my iPhone” does is, it uses your iPhone’s internet connection, and the GPS and tries to locate it on the map.
Using “Find my iPhone” to “Find” or “Erase” your iPhone!
It is important to note here that the Find my iPhone service should be installed on your iPhone before you lose it. If you know that you had that service installed, go to icloud.com using your web browser.
In order to recover your lost or stolen iPhone using this web-based service, you need to follow these instructions.
- Recall the account you used when setting up Find My iPhone, it was probably your Apple ID/iTunes account. Login to iCloud using that same account.
- Click on Find iPhone under the web-based tools offered by iCloud. Find My iPhone will instantly begin to locate all devices you had enabled on it.
- If you have more than one device set up for Find My iPhone such as your iPhone as well as your iPad, click All Devices at the top of the screen and select the device you’ve lost recently.
- If it is able to locate your device, Find My iPhone zooms in on the map and shows the location of the device using a green dot. If you see a green dot, zoom it in and search the location. When your device is found, a window appears in the right corner of your web browser. You can then see there how much battery your phone has and offers a few more options.
- If you Click Play Sound it will send a sound to the device. This will work if your device is nearby and want help finding it. If you have doubts about someone having your iPhone and you think the person is denying, this feature will also help.
How to Prevent Access to Device Instantly Using Lost Mode
If you click “Lost Mode”, you will be able to remotely lock the device’s screen and set a passcode, this will work even if you hadn’t previously had a password on your iPhone. This will help prevents a thief from being able to use your device or access your personal files.
After clicking the Lost Mode button, enter the passcode that was enabled on your iPhone.
What to do if you can’t get your iPhone back?
If you feel that you will not get the phone back, you can choose to delete all data from the device. To do this, click the Erase button. You’ll see a warning. This as an extreme measure so thinks twice before doing this. Click the box that says you know and understand what you’re doing and click Erase. This will delete all the data on your phone. As a result, the thief will have your iPhone but not your data.
If you are very lucky and find the device sometime later, you can restore your data from backup.
If you think the thief possessing your iPhone is on the move, click the green dot representing your phone and then click the rounded arrow in the pop-up window. This will to updating the device’s location using the latest GPS data.
What should you do If Your iPhone Is Offline?
Even if you have set up Find My iPhone, your device may not show up on the map. Reasons for why this may happen to include that the device may be turned off or the iPhone may be out of battery. Another reason could be that the iPhone isn’t connected to the Internet. Lastly, it might have its Location Services disabled.
But, don’t you worry, you still have some options available:
You can Check the Notify Me When Found box. Find My iPhone will let you know when your device next connects to the Internet, if the person using it ever does connect it to the internet, then you can find it.
The three options that have been mentioned in detail earlier, Play Sound, Lost Mode, and Erase are available. Use whichever you want and the next time the device is connected to the Internet, the option you picked will happen.
Did you find this article helpful? Have you ever tried any of these methods? Let us know in the comments down below.